Baltic Sea Farmer
of the Year Award

An award for farmers
who make a difference

WWF supports farmers who are prepared to go the extra mile to help save the Baltic Sea. The Baltic Sea Farmer of the Year Award recognizes farmers who implement measures on their own initiative to reduce nutrient runoff and help put a stop to eutrophication.

About the award

The WWF Baltic Sea Farmer of the Year Award was first introduced in 2009 with the goal of inspiring farmers and decision-makers across the region to take action to save the Baltic Sea.  It has since been organized 8 times by the partner offices in WWF Baltic Ecoregion Programme. In 2018 Ukraine and Belarus were added to the competition through the Coalition Clean Baltic partnership.

With the award, WWF recognizes individual farmers who are actively taking measures to reduce nutrient runoff and puts a spotlight on their exemplary farms. Every competition year, juries select a national winner of the Baltic Sea Farmer of the Year Award from 11 countries in the Baltic Sea catchment area.

The winners receive a certificate and a nominal monetary award of 1,000 Euros. The eleven national winners serve as the nominees from which the international jury selects one main regional winner – who receives a grand prize of 10,000 Euros.

Beyond the competition itself, each of the 11 winners serve as ambassadors of sustainable farming for the entire region – sharing their unique experiences and results for all to learn from on this webpage.

Read more about the criteria                  Read more about the previous winners



The next regional competition will take place in 2021 and national competitions are currently on the way in most partner countries.

Last modified 24/02/21

Close search