Skip to main content

Competition Recap|19 Sep, 2019

Baltic Sea Farmer of the Year Award 2019


The Baltic Sea Farmer of the Year Award competition selects national winners and one regional winner from eleven countries within the Baltic Sea catchment.

This year’s winning farms range from a small organic crop farm to a 3,420-hectare conventional crop and livestock cooperative. Each farmer has a unique story to tell about the methods they have tried and successfully implemented to reduce nutrient runoff to the Baltic Sea.

Among the winners this year, the national winner from Denmark have been selected as the overall winner in the region. Danish farmers Kristian and Maria Lundgaard-Karlshøj were presented with the WWF Baltic Sea Farmer of the Year Award 25 September at a ceremony in Warsaw, Poland.

The international jury is impressed by the diverse range of measures employed at the large-scale farm to reduce nutrient runoff, as well as by the farmers’ dedication to pursuing new strategies for sustainable and future-proof agriculture.

We invite you to read the brochure and learn more about each of the 11 inspiring winners!

Last modified 21/07/22

Close search